La Tupina

The fireplace at the heart of the restaurant

In the past, in the countryside, the fireplace was used not just for heating the house but also for lighting up evenings around the hearth. The fireplace , is the warm symbol of “La Tupina” , everything happens around it : the welcome of the customers and the life of the restaurant. In the fireplace Tricandilles (a grilled pork Bordeaux speciality) sizzle in the pan, the soup simmers, and poultry, roast beef, , and other meats are cooked on the embers…
In year 1985, Jean-Pierre Xiradakis created the association « Défense et Sauvegarde des Traditions du Sud-Ouest » (Defense and Safeguard of The South West Traditions) which gathers the best chefs in the region : Jean-Marie Amat, Michel Guérard, André Daguin, Michel Trama to mention only the best known ones.
Now, the association continues its work to sensitize the public to regional agricultural productions and the valorization of this heritage, and it publishes a quarterly gazette, : “Le Potiron Bleu” (The Blue Pumpkin) in “La Rue Gourmande” (the Gourmet Street)..

TupinaLogo

The Cauldron

“La Tupina” means cauldron or pot in Basque.. Being the emblem of the restaurant, it sits imposingly in the fireplace and is used during winter to simmer soups, whose fragrant scent spreads through the whole restaurant.

Products and Dishes

Homemade-College-culinary-de-France_medium

 

« If you want bluff, theatricality, glitters, then go your way ! The cooking practiced in La Tupina has been patiently established through the years, between the kitchen garden and the fireplace ».
From the book " The kitchen of the Tupina »Editions Milan - 2004

To book online :


6, rue Porte de la Monnaie – 33800 Bordeaux
Reservation http://www.latupina.com/reservation/
Phone : 05 56 91 56 37
Fax : 05 56 31 92 11

La Tupina

La cheminée au cœur du restaurant

Autrefois, dans les campagnes, elle servait à chauffer la maison mais aussi à donner de la lumière lors des soirées autour de l’âtre. La cheminée, c’est le symbole chaleureux de La Tupina , tout se passe autour d’elle : l’accueil des clients et l’animation du restaurant. Les tricandilles y grésillent dans la poêle, la soupe mitonne, les volailles y rôtissent, les viandes de bœuf sont grillées sur la braise…
En 1985, Jean-Pierre Xiradakis crée l’association « Défense et Sauvegarde des Traditions du Sud-Ouest  » qui regroupe les plus grands chefs de la région : Jean-Marie Amat, Michel Guérard, André Daguin, Michel Trama pour ne citer que les plus connus.
Aujourd’hui, l’association continue son travail de sensibilisation du public aux produits régionaux et à la valorisation de ce patrimoine et publie au sein de la Rue Gourmande une gazette trimestrielle : Le Potiron bleu.

TupinaLogo

Le chaudron

La Tupina signifie chaudron ou marmite en basque. Emblème du restaurant, il trône dans la cheminée et est utilisé l’hiver pour mijoter les soupes dont l’odorant fumet se propage dans tout le restaurant.

Les Produits et les Plats

Fait-maison-College-culinaire-de-France_medium

 

« Si vous voulez de l’esbroufe, de l’espante, des paillettes, passez votre chemin ! la cuisine dont il est question à la Tupina a été patiemment polie par les ans, entre le potager et la cheminée ».
Tiré du livre « La Cuisine de la Tupina » Éditions Milan – 2004

Pour réserver en ligne :


6, rue Porte de la Monnaie – 33800 Bordeaux
Réservation http://www.latupina.com/reservation/
Tel : 05 56 91 56 37
Fax : 05 56 31 92 11