Tags: xiradakis

“Walking.. vine”

MEPcouvPiedVigne.indd

“Walking.. vine”
Jean-Pierre Xiradakis
Feret Editions 2016,
brooch 192 p
17,50 €

While there is of the vine, there is hope
By Jean-Pierre Gené,

Bordeaux Party, Jean-Pierre walked over a month through the vineyards to reach the cemetery of Imvros, small Cretan village, where six tombs show the same surname as his : Xiradakis. ” I was looking for anything, I did not expect the Holy Grail. Just know a little better the origin of the name I bear for several decades, and now with pride. The name with which I journeyed throughout my personal and professional background. The name that was hard to take in my teens, with my friends in this popular area of ​​Spanish emigrants. This name which earned me jeers to military service. This exotic sounding name for some but that forged my personality. ” He has just published the story of that journey, pretext for a virtual room where one eats sandwiches and omelettes cross the road and sprinkled with modest wine.
Jean-Pierre Xiradakis today is known and valued is on the Bordeaux and the owner of restaurant La Tupina (” the pot “, Basque), opened in 1968 bought in a local 700 francs door of the Currency, a neighborhood of immigrants that the bourgeois was careful to avoid. They all came from, this became greedy and pretty street where, under his leadership, now rub restaurants, bistros, grocery, caviste, guest house. taster bottles end, locavore before time, strong advocate products and kitchen of this West that roams backpackers for decades, he chose, see you soon 70 years of age, go through the vineyards in search of their roots and hers.
” Only walking, because it is true freedom, trustful abandonment, allows fully appreciate that perceive our five sense constantly solicited. There is no Saturday or Sunday. Only days that pass, differently, deeper, live hours, seasons, human relationships, the smells, whose own his. It empties the mind to live completely. ”
GR 6 in GR 77, of Roman road in county, walk, hitchhiking, by bus, by train, on a boat, as it moves away from Bordeaux, ” the restorer of Gironde disappear in favor of a traveler like other -Anonymous. At the same time, wines will evolve met, of it influenced by marketing to the sublime wine : that of the moment, one that surprises us, one that turns our dream into reality. but we still have for your pleasure young partridges, pheasans, ruails, hares and wood pigeons., the emotion. ”
the wine as ” truth of a terroir ”
Jean-Pierre has everything tasted Xiradakis, the best and the worst. He knows the Bordeaux vineyard vine by vine and winegrowers by name. The factory and the wine trade have few secrets for him. Shanghai to New York, he has seen much and learned, more, during this trip, he will ask the right question : ” What is a good wine ? ”
Through Cahors, Gaillac, Minervois, the Baux de Provence, the Thoronet, Liguria and Tuscany, his judgment turned : ” I put the nose in the glass with more humility and circumspection. I do not only search the largest unattainable, but simply the truth of a terroir and the man who shaped the vine with his beliefs and knowledge. Pierre Coste, The Revo-lutions in the palace, spoke of the "wanted wine or wine suffered". I am now in the desired wine. ”
In this autobiography vino-perso where the author never gets angry – even when denied a slice of roast pork – emerges a profound respect for nature and those who prefer to grow rather than exploit. Step by step, he portrays these people and their passion for the vine. This vine, in the deep land, crossed somewhere Cretan roots to produce a single grape : le Tour (dakis) walker.”

By Jean-Pierre Gené,
The World Style,
12 July 2016

Hommage au patrimoine culinaire du Sud-Ouest en Algérie pour “GOUT DE FRANCE / GOOD FRANCE”

The Taste of France initiative

initiated in 2015 by the former Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Development, M. Laurent Fabius, in partnership with the star chef Alain Ducasse, Taste of France / Good France is a global event that celebrates the excellence of French cuisine, its capacity for innovation and the values ​​it : sharing, pleasure, respect of "eating well", his contemporaries and the planet.

maxresdefault

Taste of France in Algeria

In Algeria the operation was extensive and many French and Algerian leaders were on the kitchen 21 mars, in all the countries, to prepare recipes inspired by French traditions while drawing on the Algerian heritage.

The Embassy of France in Algeria and the French Institute of Algeria partnership with the prestigious Culinary College de France and La Tupina concocted a dense program combining the business with pleasure, with lectures, a competition to select young Algerian cooks who will be trained in France and a gourmet dinner in Algiers, Constantine, Annaba, Oran and Tlemcen !

Oran : Jean-Pierre XIRADAKIS, the owner of the restaurant Tupina in Bordeaux, and Franck AUDU, head chef, were greeted by Faisal HABBI in the kitchens of the Hotel Royal Ambassadors.

Tlemcen : Yves LEMARIE, chef at Relais de Listrac, in the Bordeaux region, Toula and HADJ MILOUD, young leader 27 years of age, teamed in the kitchens of the Renaissance Arabesque.

Alger : Stéphane CARRADE, chef at Petit Commerce in Bordeaux, invested kitchens Saveurs du Savoir, restaurant of the Institute of France in Algiers.

Annaba : Emmanuel Bouchet, Bordeaux head the Manufactures Bread and Bricoles, at the Residence of the Consul General.

Constantine : Julien CRUEGE, Bordeaux head, has combined his talents with those of Rachid ABROUS at Novotel.

The menu 32 Euros

Aperitif and coffee + 4 €

3 glasses of wine choice + 9 €

***********

Entrance noirouTerrine pork ham jourouAssiette mi-cuit foie gras

***********

Duck breast entierouBar the planchaouPièce butcher in salt

***********

Baked apple and ice vanilleouFondant to chocolatouPruneaux Armagnac

Kill the Pig 2011

Hello everyone,

Tuesday 8 mars, to celebrate “Carnival”, we look forward to seeing you “the Tupina” for the “Kill Pig”.

Like every year, We invite you to treat yourself to good” franquette”, rillettes, hams, of gratons and other “charcutailles”. To accompany all this, French brasserie styles the “Château Cluzeau” will celebrate its fifth vintage and you will discover the typical wines of Bergerac.

Meanwhile, butchers prepare traditional “Jimbourra” we propose you the menu “pig” which will be served for lunch.

This year, we will be hosting “revenue workshops” where you can participate in the development of recipes “Kill Pig” as the “Jimboura” (sausage soup), the “Worse sauce” or the manufacture of sausage.

For lunch, “La Tupina” et “Le Comestible” will offer the following menu :

MENU

40 € (Except Drink)

Tricandilles et Carbonnades (appetizers)

Jimbourra

Crunchy, Mashed Potaoes

Worse sauce

French Toast , Custard

Remember to book your table 05 56 91 56 37

We await you as many each year.

Soon.

Our partners for this edition 2011 :

The Black Pig of Bigorre, Charcuterie Bordelaise, Castle Cluzeau, Oysters Cazaubon (town of’ Grass)

In January the Cellar Bar

Every Friday evening (from 19:30 to 22:30), We invite you to discover a castle presented by its owner. On this occasion, a drink will be served during dinner. The next tasting will be held : -Friday 21 January “Chateau La Rame” -Friday 28 January “Chateau De Laville” -Friday 4 February 'Chateau De Marsan” (Premières Côtes de Bordeaux)

Maison Fredon – the project

It was a dream that became a project : able to meet the growing demand of customers asking us to find them a bed and breakfast in town. What we found behind the walls is very encouraging : pastel coatings, sale chimneys eighteenth in "their juice", viagra the French ceilings and volumes that allow greater comfort. Street Porte de La Monnaie construction of the new mint by the Intendant Tourny in 1750 was the pretext for the modernization of this area. In the axis of the main façade of the hotel has long existed, search the street Anglaise, which it was said that the name came from the fact that in the Middle Ages, only English soldiers risked there it was so poorly attended. It is also called, street "des Arlots", plain prostitutes. Olivier Fredon and his wife, were grocers , street Porte de La Monnaie when I bought "The Tupina" in 1968. His family bought the building at the end of the eighteenth century (see photo). They lived their entire professional lives. Evening, their day's work, they climbed upstairs to bed. Olivier Fredon was a grocer. He was listening to the neighborhood. He knew all its inhabitants and their stories. His book "credit" was actually a reflection of the life of this neighborhood. When I started work on "The Tupina", the "Fredon" welcomed me with curiosity and kindness. After opening of restaurant, it was at the grocery store opposite, we were going to help us out of staples. This contact was, for us, primordial. Mr. Fredon and his wife, were the link between the restaurant and residents. It was the time, where there were still in the street, 18 shops : grocery, delicatessen, restaurant worker, bakery, pharmacy, hairdressing salon, cabinetmaker, artisans, bar… In 2000, when they stopped their activity to retire, it is quite natural to me, they have turned me offering to buy their building. The name "Maison Fredon" is a tribute to a family who has devoted his life work to small locals. PROJECT ROOM HOST, this house facing "La Tupina" accompanied 43 years of my professional life. It is a testament to the evolution of the street and its transformation. Now, this street is beautiful and harmonious. The buildings eighteenth are simple, but speak for themselves in the history of Bordeaux. In this building, I would first like to preserve this rich history. Habitat eighteenth modest indeed is the reflection of city life this time ; space, French ceilings, chimneys. This fingerprint time will be kept and development by offering 5 rooms (3 to 50 m2 2 rooms of 30 m2) where, Preference will be given comfort and decoration made furniture and contemporary artists who have shaped our time. I want to somehow provide a form of hospitality with modern criteria will appeal to your sensibility. It is an adventure that I want to share. Let me know your opinions and desires.

Some news from the "House Fredon"

Work started now for over three mois.Après facelift, shop the facade of the building is finally appeared in its strictest intensité.Il is like the first day of construction 1754. His nakedness reveals its stigmas he suffered during his last three centuries. The dressings are numerous and tell its story. The various artisans who intervened during the various work, view have not always respected his great âge.Dépourvu his poultices, online he appears with his "war wounds" hidden until today. The various blockages have made fragile, weakness has forced us to revise our. The original beams inside that we wanted to keep proved warped and relied on cracked and crumbling walls. It therefore became urgent to consider a serious restoration and durable.Monsieur LUPO, project manager, following this project with the necessary sensitivity and with as much deference as a doctor at the bedside of a very sick. The craftsman when Alex Sergent him, like the old stones and histoires.Nous have all three by agreement, decided to restore its old habit, respecting the work of the first men who made Bordeaux a architecture.A follow jewels ....

Tags: xiradakis

“Marche à pied.. de vigne”

MEPcouvPiedVigne.indd

“Marche à pied.. de vigne”
Jean-Pierre Xiradakis
Editions Féret 2016,
broché 192 p
17,50 €

Tant qu’il y a de la vigne, il y a de l’espoir
Par Jean-Pierre Gené,

Parti de Bordeaux, Jean-Pierre a marché plus d’un mois à travers les vignes pour atteindre le cimetière d’Imbros, petit village crétois, où six tombes affichent le même patronyme que le sien : Xiradakis. ” Je ne recherchais rien, je n’attendais pas le Saint-Graal. Simplement connaître un peu mieux l’origine d’un nom que je porte depuis quelques décennies, et maintenant avec fierté. Ce nom avec lequel j’ai cheminé tout au long de mon parcours personnel et professionnel. Ce nom qui a été difficile à assumer dans mon adolescence, avec mes copains de ce quartier populaire d’émigrés espagnols. Ce nom qui m’a valu des quolibets au service militaire. Ce nom à consonance exotique pour certains mais qui a forgé ma personnalité. ” Il vient de publier le récit de ce voyage, prétexte à un déjeuner virtuel où l’on se nourrit de sandwichs et d’omelettes croisées en chemin et arrosés de vins modestes.
Jean-Pierre Xiradakis est aujourd’hui une figure connue et estimée sur la place de Bordeaux et le patron du restaurant La Tupina (” la marmite “, en basque), ouvert en 1968 dans un local acheté 700 francs porte de la Monnaie, un quartier d’immigrés que le bourgeois prenait soin d’éviter. Ils y sont tous venus depuis, dans cette rue devenue gourmande et jolie où, sous son impulsion, se côtoient désormais restaurants, bistrots, épicerie, caviste, chambres d’hôte. Fin dégustateur de flacons, locavore avant l’heure, ardent défenseur des produits et de la cuisine de ce Sud-Ouest qu’il arpente sac au dos depuis des décennies, il a choisi, à bientôt 70 ans, de partir à travers les vignes à la recherche de leurs racines et des siennes.
” Seule la marche, parce qu’elle est une vraie liberté, un abandon confiant, permet de goûter pleinement à ce que perçoivent nos cinq sens en permanence sollicités. Il n’y a plus de samedi ni de dimanche. Il n’y a que des jours qui défilent, une manière différente, plus profonde, de vivre les heures, les saisons, les rapports humains, les odeurs, dont la sienne propre. On se vide l’esprit pour vivre totalement. ”
De GR 6 en GR 77, de départementale en voie romaine, à pied, en stop, en bus, en train, en bateau, à mesure qu’il s’éloigne de Bordeaux, ” le restaurateur de Gironde disparaîtra au profit d’un voyageur -anonyme comme les autres. Dans le même temps, les vins rencontrés vont évoluer, de celui influencé par le marketing vers le vin sublime : celui de l’instant, celui qui nous surprend, celui qui transforme notre rêve en réalité. Bref, celui de l’émotion. ”
le vin comme ” vérité d’un terroir ”
Jean-Pierre Xiradakis a tout goûté, le meilleur comme le pire. Il connaît le vignoble bordelais cep par cep et ses vignerons par leur prénom. La fabrique et le commerce des vins n’ont guère de secrets pour lui. De Shanghaï à New York, il en a beaucoup vu et appris, mais, au cours de ce voyage, il va se poser la bonne question : ” Qu’est ce qu’un bon vin ? ”
En passant par Cahors, Gaillac, le Minervois, les Baux-de-Provence, le Thoronet, la Ligurie et la Toscane, son jugement s’est transformé : ” Je mets le nez dans le verre avec davantage d’humilité et de circonspection. Je ne recherche plus uniquement le grand inaccessible, mais plus simplement la vérité d’un terroir et de l’homme qui a façonné la vigne avec ses convictions et son savoir. Pierre Coste, dans Les Révo-lutions du palais, parlait du «vin voulu ou du vin subi». Je suis désormais dans le vin voulu. ”
De cette autobiographie vino-perso où l’auteur ne se met jamais en colère – même lorsqu’on lui refuse une tranche de rôti de porc – se dégage un profond respect de la nature et de ceux qui préfèrent la cultiver plutôt que l’exploiter. D’étape en étape, il dresse le portrait de ces gens-là et de leur passion pour la vigne. Cette vigne qui, dans les profondeurs de la terre, a croisé quelque part des racines crétoises pour produire un cépage unique : le Xira (dakis) marcheur.”

Par Jean-Pierre Gené,
Le Monde Style,
12 juillet 2016

Hommage au patrimoine culinaire du Sud-Ouest en Algérie pour “GOUT DE FRANCE / GOOD FRANCE”

L’initiative Goût de France

Initié en 2015 par l’ancien ministre des affaires étrangères et du développement international, M. Laurent FABIUS, en partenariat avec le chef étoilé Alain DUCASSE, Goût de France/ Good France est un événement mondial qui rend hommage à l’excellence de la cuisine française, à sa capacité d’innovation et aux valeurs qu’elle véhicule : partage, plaisir, respect du « bien-manger », de ses contemporains et de la planète.

maxresdefault

Goût de France en Algérie

En Algérie l’opération a été d’envergure et de nombreux chefs français et algériens étaient aux fourneaux le 21 mars, dans tout le pays, pour préparer des recettes s’inspirant des traditions françaises tout en puisant dans le patrimoine algérien.

L’Ambassade de France en Algérie et l’Institut français d’Algérie avec le prestigieux partenariat du Collège culinaire de France et LA TUPINA ont concocté un programme dense mêlant l’utile à l’agréable, avec des conférences, un concours pour sélectionner de jeunes cuisiniers algériens qui suivront une formation en France et un dîner gastronomique à Alger, Constantine, Annaba, Oran et Tlemcen !

Oran : Jean-Pierre XIRADAKIS, propriétaire du restaurant la Tupina à Bordeaux, et Franck AUDU, chef du restaurant, étaient accueillis par Fayçal HABBI dans les cuisines du restaurant les Ambassadeurs de l’hôtel Royal.

Tlemcen : Yves LEMARIE, chef au Relais de Listrac, en région bordelaise, et Toula HADJ MILOUD, jeune chef de 27 ans, ont fait équipe dans les cuisines du restaurant Arabesque de l’hôtel Renaissance.

Alger : Stéphane CARRADE, chef au Petit Commerce à Bordeaux, a investi les cuisines des Saveurs du Savoir, restaurant de l’Institut de France à Alger.

Annaba : Emmanuel BOUCHET, chef bordelais à la Fabrique Pains et Bricoles, à la Résidence du Consul Général.

Constantine : Julien CRUEGE, chef bordelais, a allié ses talents à ceux de Rachid ABROUS à l’hôtel Novotel.

La Tue Cochon 2011

Bonjour à tous,

Le mardi 8 mars, pour fêter “Carnaval”, nous vous donnons rendez-vous à “la Tupina” pour la “Tue-Cochon”.

Comme chaque année, nous vous invitons à venir vous régaler à la bonne” franquette”, de rillettes, de jambons, de gratons et autres “charcutailles”. Pour accompagner tout cela, le “Château Cluzeau” fêtera son 5e millésime et vous fera découvrir la typicité des vins de Bergerac.

Pendant ce temps, les charcutiers prépareront la traditionnelle “Jimbourra” que nous vous proposerons dans le menu “cochon” qui sera servi pour le déjeuner.

Cette année, nous animerons des “ateliers recettes” où vous pourrez participer à l’élaboration des recettes de la “Tue-Cochon” comme la “Jimboura” (soupe de boudin), la “sauce de Pire” ou bien la fabrication du boudin.

Pour déjeuner, “La Tupina” et “Le Comestible” vous proposerons le menu suivant :

MENU

40 € (hors boissons)

Tricandilles et Carbonnades (amuse-gueules)

Jimbourra

Croustilles, Purée

Sauce de Pire

Pain Perdu, Crème Anglaise

Pensez à réserver votre table au 05 56 91 56 37

Nous vous attendons comme chaque année très nombreux.

A bientôt.

Nos partenaires pour cette édition 2011 :

Le Porc Noir de Bigorre, La Charcuterie Bordelaise, Le Château Cluzeau, Les Huitres Cazaubon (village de l’ Herbe)

En Janvier au Bar Cave

Tous les vendredis soir (de 19h30 à 22h30), nous vous proposons de découvrir un château présenté par son propriétaire. A cette occasion, un verre vous sera offert au cours de votre dîner. Les prochaines dégustations auront lieu les : -Vendredi 21 janvier “Chateau La Rame” -Vendredi 28 janvier “Chateau De Laville” -Vendredi 4 février ‘Chateau De Marsan” (Premières Côtes de Bordeaux)

La maison Fredon – le projet

C’était un rêve qui est devenu un projet : pouvoir répondre à la demande sans cesse croissante des clients qui nous demandaient de leur trouver une chambre d’hôtes en ville.Ce que nous avons trouvé derrière les cloisons est très encourageant : des enduits aux couleurs pastel, sale des cheminées XVIIIe dans « leur jus », viagra des plafonds à la Française et des volumes qui permettront le plus grand confort. Rue Porte de La MonnaieLa construction du nouvel hôtel de la monnaie par l’Intendant Tourny en 1750 fut le prétexte de la modernisation de ce quartier. Dans l’axe de la façade principale de l’hôtel existait depuis longtemps, search la rue Anglaise, dont on disait que le nom venait du fait qu’au Moyen-âge, seuls les soldats Anglais s’y risquaient tellement elle était mal fréquentée. On la nommait aussi, rue des Arlots, en clair des prostituées. Olivier Fredon et son épouse, étaient épiciers, rue Porte de La Monnaie lorsque j’ai acheté « La Tupina » en 1968. Sa famille avait acheté l’immeuble à la fin du XVIIIe siècle (voir photo). Ils y ont vécu toute leur vie professionnelle. Le soir, leur journée de travail terminée, ils montaient se coucher à l’étage. Olivier Fredon était plus qu’un épicier. Il était à l’écoute du quartier. Il connaissait tous ses habitants et leurs petites histoires. Son cahier de « crédit » était d’ailleurs le reflet de la vie de ce quartier populaire. Lorsque j’ai commencé les travaux de « La Tupina », les « Fredon » m’ont accueilli avec curiosité et gentillesse. Après l’ouverture du restaurant, c’était à l’épicerie situé en face, que nous allions pour nous dépanner de produits de première nécessité. Ce contact était, pour nous, primordial. Monsieur Fredon et son épouse, étaient le trait d’union entre le restaurant et les riverains. C’était l’époque, où il y avait encore dans la rue, 18 commerces : épicerie, charcuterie, restaurant ouvrier, boulangerie, pharmacie, salon de coiffure, ébéniste, artisans, bar…En 2000, quand ils ont cessé leur activité pour prendre leur retraite, c’est tout naturellement vers moi, qu’ils se sont tourné en me proposant d’acheter leur immeuble. Le nom « Maison Fredon » est un hommage à une famille qui a consacré sa vie de labeur aux petites gens du quartier.LE PROJET DE CHAMBRES D’HOTECette maison face à « La Tupina » a accompagné 43 ans de ma vie professionnelle. Elle est le témoignage de l’évolution de la rue et de sa transformation. Aujourd’hui, cette rue est belle et harmonieuse. Les immeubles XVIIIème sont simples, mais parlent d’eux même de l’histoire de Bordeaux. Dans cet immeuble, je souhaite d’abord préserver cette histoire riche. L’habitat XVIIIe modeste certes est le reflet de la vie citadine de cette époque ; espace, plafonds à la Française, cheminées. Cette empreinte du temps sera gardée et mise en valeur en proposant 5 chambres (3 de 50 m2 et 2 chambres de 30 m2) où, seront privilégiés le confort et la décoration faite de mobilier et d’œuvres contemporaines d’artistes qui ont marqué notre époque. Je désire en quelque sorte proposer une forme d’hôtellerie dont les critères modernes feront appel à votre sensibilité. C’est une aventure que je veux vous faire partager. Faites-moi connaître vos avis et vos envies.

Quelques nouvelles de la « Maison Fredon »

Les travaux ont commencé maintenant depuis plus de trois mois.Après ravalement, shop la façade de l’immeuble est enfin apparue dans sa plus stricte intensité.Il est comme au 1er jour de sa construction en 1754. Sa nudité laisse apparaître ses stigmates qu’il a subit au cours de ses trois derniers siècles. Les pansements sont nombreux et racontent son histoire. Les différents artisans qui sont intervenus au cours des différents travaux, view n’ont pas toujours respecté son grand âge.Dépourvu de ses cataplasmes, online il apparaît avec ses « blessures de guerre » cachées jusqu’à aujourd’hui. Les différents colmatages l’ont rendu fragile et, sa faiblesse nous a obligés à revoir notre copie. Les poutres d’origine intérieures que nous voulions garder se sont avérées vermoulues et s’appuyaient sur des murs fendus et friables. Il était donc devenu urgent d’envisager une restauration sérieuse et durable.Monsieur LUPO, maitre d’œuvre, suit ce chantier avec la sensibilité nécessaire et avec autant de déférence qu’un médecin au chevet d’un grand malade. L’artisan Alex Sergent quand à lui, aime les vieilles pierres et leurs histoires.Nous avons tous les trois d’un commun accord, décidé de lui rendre son habit d’antan, en respectant le travail de ces premiers hommes qui ont fait de Bordeaux un joyaux d’architecture.A suivre….