Tags: vine

“Walking.. vine”

MEPcouvPiedVigne.indd

“Walking.. vine”
Jean-Pierre Xiradakis
Feret Editions 2016,
brooch 192 p
17,50 €

While there is of the vine, there is hope
By Jean-Pierre Gené,

Bordeaux Party, Jean-Pierre walked over a month through the vineyards to reach the cemetery of Imvros, small Cretan village, where six tombs show the same surname as his : Xiradakis. ” I was looking for anything, I did not expect the Holy Grail. Just know a little better the origin of the name I bear for several decades, and now with pride. The name with which I journeyed throughout my personal and professional background. The name that was hard to take in my teens, with my friends in this popular area of ​​Spanish emigrants. This name which earned me jeers to military service. This exotic sounding name for some but that forged my personality. ” He has just published the story of that journey, pretext for a virtual room where one eats sandwiches and omelettes cross the road and sprinkled with modest wine.
Jean-Pierre Xiradakis today is known and valued is on the Bordeaux and the owner of restaurant La Tupina (” the pot “, Basque), opened in 1968 bought in a local 700 francs door of the Currency, a neighborhood of immigrants that the bourgeois was careful to avoid. They all came from, this became greedy and pretty street where, under his leadership, now rub restaurants, bistros, grocery, caviste, guest house. taster bottles end, locavore before time, strong advocate products and kitchen of this West that roams backpackers for decades, he chose, see you soon 70 years of age, go through the vineyards in search of their roots and hers.
” Only walking, because it is true freedom, trustful abandonment, allows fully appreciate that perceive our five sense constantly solicited. There is no Saturday or Sunday. Only days that pass, differently, deeper, live hours, seasons, human relationships, the smells, whose own his. It empties the mind to live completely. ”
GR 6 in GR 77, of Roman road in county, walk, hitchhiking, by bus, by train, on a boat, as it moves away from Bordeaux, ” the restorer of Gironde disappear in favor of a traveler like other -Anonymous. At the same time, wines will evolve met, of it influenced by marketing to the sublime wine : that of the moment, one that surprises us, one that turns our dream into reality. but we still have for your pleasure young partridges, pheasans, ruails, hares and wood pigeons., the emotion. ”
the wine as ” truth of a terroir ”
Jean-Pierre has everything tasted Xiradakis, the best and the worst. He knows the Bordeaux vineyard vine by vine and winegrowers by name. The factory and the wine trade have few secrets for him. Shanghai to New York, he has seen much and learned, more, during this trip, he will ask the right question : ” What is a good wine ? ”
Through Cahors, Gaillac, Minervois, the Baux de Provence, the Thoronet, Liguria and Tuscany, his judgment turned : ” I put the nose in the glass with more humility and circumspection. I do not only search the largest unattainable, but simply the truth of a terroir and the man who shaped the vine with his beliefs and knowledge. Pierre Coste, The Revo-lutions in the palace, spoke of the "wanted wine or wine suffered". I am now in the desired wine. ”
In this autobiography vino-perso where the author never gets angry – even when denied a slice of roast pork – emerges a profound respect for nature and those who prefer to grow rather than exploit. Step by step, he portrays these people and their passion for the vine. This vine, in the deep land, crossed somewhere Cretan roots to produce a single grape : le Tour (dakis) walker.”

By Jean-Pierre Gené,
The World Style,
12 July 2016

Tags: vigne

“Marche à pied.. de vigne”

MEPcouvPiedVigne.indd

“Marche à pied.. de vigne”
Jean-Pierre Xiradakis
Editions Féret 2016,
broché 192 p
17,50 €

Tant qu’il y a de la vigne, il y a de l’espoir
Par Jean-Pierre Gené,

Parti de Bordeaux, Jean-Pierre a marché plus d’un mois à travers les vignes pour atteindre le cimetière d’Imbros, petit village crétois, où six tombes affichent le même patronyme que le sien : Xiradakis. ” Je ne recherchais rien, je n’attendais pas le Saint-Graal. Simplement connaître un peu mieux l’origine d’un nom que je porte depuis quelques décennies, et maintenant avec fierté. Ce nom avec lequel j’ai cheminé tout au long de mon parcours personnel et professionnel. Ce nom qui a été difficile à assumer dans mon adolescence, avec mes copains de ce quartier populaire d’émigrés espagnols. Ce nom qui m’a valu des quolibets au service militaire. Ce nom à consonance exotique pour certains mais qui a forgé ma personnalité. ” Il vient de publier le récit de ce voyage, prétexte à un déjeuner virtuel où l’on se nourrit de sandwichs et d’omelettes croisées en chemin et arrosés de vins modestes.
Jean-Pierre Xiradakis est aujourd’hui une figure connue et estimée sur la place de Bordeaux et le patron du restaurant La Tupina (” la marmite “, en basque), ouvert en 1968 dans un local acheté 700 francs porte de la Monnaie, un quartier d’immigrés que le bourgeois prenait soin d’éviter. Ils y sont tous venus depuis, dans cette rue devenue gourmande et jolie où, sous son impulsion, se côtoient désormais restaurants, bistrots, épicerie, caviste, chambres d’hôte. Fin dégustateur de flacons, locavore avant l’heure, ardent défenseur des produits et de la cuisine de ce Sud-Ouest qu’il arpente sac au dos depuis des décennies, il a choisi, à bientôt 70 ans, de partir à travers les vignes à la recherche de leurs racines et des siennes.
” Seule la marche, parce qu’elle est une vraie liberté, un abandon confiant, permet de goûter pleinement à ce que perçoivent nos cinq sens en permanence sollicités. Il n’y a plus de samedi ni de dimanche. Il n’y a que des jours qui défilent, une manière différente, plus profonde, de vivre les heures, les saisons, les rapports humains, les odeurs, dont la sienne propre. On se vide l’esprit pour vivre totalement. ”
De GR 6 en GR 77, de départementale en voie romaine, à pied, en stop, en bus, en train, en bateau, à mesure qu’il s’éloigne de Bordeaux, ” le restaurateur de Gironde disparaîtra au profit d’un voyageur -anonyme comme les autres. Dans le même temps, les vins rencontrés vont évoluer, de celui influencé par le marketing vers le vin sublime : celui de l’instant, celui qui nous surprend, celui qui transforme notre rêve en réalité. Bref, celui de l’émotion. ”
le vin comme ” vérité d’un terroir ”
Jean-Pierre Xiradakis a tout goûté, le meilleur comme le pire. Il connaît le vignoble bordelais cep par cep et ses vignerons par leur prénom. La fabrique et le commerce des vins n’ont guère de secrets pour lui. De Shanghaï à New York, il en a beaucoup vu et appris, mais, au cours de ce voyage, il va se poser la bonne question : ” Qu’est ce qu’un bon vin ? ”
En passant par Cahors, Gaillac, le Minervois, les Baux-de-Provence, le Thoronet, la Ligurie et la Toscane, son jugement s’est transformé : ” Je mets le nez dans le verre avec davantage d’humilité et de circonspection. Je ne recherche plus uniquement le grand inaccessible, mais plus simplement la vérité d’un terroir et de l’homme qui a façonné la vigne avec ses convictions et son savoir. Pierre Coste, dans Les Révo-lutions du palais, parlait du «vin voulu ou du vin subi». Je suis désormais dans le vin voulu. ”
De cette autobiographie vino-perso où l’auteur ne se met jamais en colère – même lorsqu’on lui refuse une tranche de rôti de porc – se dégage un profond respect de la nature et de ceux qui préfèrent la cultiver plutôt que l’exploiter. D’étape en étape, il dresse le portrait de ces gens-là et de leur passion pour la vigne. Cette vigne qui, dans les profondeurs de la terre, a croisé quelque part des racines crétoises pour produire un cépage unique : le Xira (dakis) marcheur.”

Par Jean-Pierre Gené,
Le Monde Style,
12 juillet 2016