At the meeting the Georgian soil !

As part of the 5 th Taste edition of France, Jean-Pierre Xiradakis accompanied by Chief Audu Franck went to Georgia to exchange both with foreign leaders, representatives of the local culinary tradition and meet the local cuisine in different aspects.

During this trip, a Franco-Georgian gala dinner in the spirit of "Taste of France" was organized gathering 80 guests in the presence of H.E. the Ambassador of France. Great wines made from indigenous varieties Georgians were served such as Saperavi, Kisi du Domaine Lukasi.

A debate on "Challenges of sustainable gastronomy in Georgia and France" led by the two leaders took place at the restaurant "Chveni" created by Guram Baghdoshvili, Gault Millau chef 2018 Georgia. They discussed the importance of promoting Georgian products, the protection of sustainable agriculture and protection of protected designations.

Then, leaders visited Kakheti, wine region par excellence birthplace of winemaking. A Shuamta, with the sisters of the Monastery, they got down to preparing a lunch for Lent with local and seasonal products. This vegan lunch was held at the Alaverdi Monastery bringing together high-ranking guests as Archbishop David, the ambassadors, senior Georgian officials and the Georgian religious community. Wines aged in clay jars by Georgian monks and co-produced with Badagoni field accompanied lunch.

A masterclass "Georgian Terroir" for the Georgian leaders apprentices was conducted by the two leaders to develop around local traditional products and discuss the future of world gastronomy.

 

Here are videos of the trip to Georgia:

A la rencontre du terroir géorgien !

Dans le cadre de la 5 ème édition de Goût de France, Jean-Pierre Xiradakis accompagné du chef Franck Audu se sont rendus en Géorgie pour échanger à la fois avec les chefs étrangers, les représentants de la tradition culinaire locale et rencontrer la gastronomie locale sous différents aspects.

Durant ce voyage, un dîner de gala franco-géorgien dans l’esprit « Goût de France » a été organisé réunissant 80 convives en présence de S.E l’Ambassadeur de France. Des grands vins réalisés à partir de cépages autochtones géorgiens ont été servie tels que Saperavi, Kisi du Domaine Lukasi.

Un débat autour des « Enjeux de la gastronomie durable en Géorgie et en France » mené par les deux chefs s’est déroulé au restaurant « Chveni » créé par Guram Baghdoshvili, chef Gault et Millau 2018 en Géorgie. Ils ont échangé sur l’importance de la promotion des produits géorgiens, la protection de l’agriculture durable et la défense des appellations protégées.

Puis, les chefs se sont rendus à Kakhétie, région viticole par excellence du berceau de la viticulture. A Shuamta, avec les sœurs du Monastère, ils se sont attelés à la préparation d’un déjeuner de carême avec les produits locaux et de saison. Ce déjeuner végétalien s’est déroulé au Monastère Alaverdi réunissant des convives de haut-rang comme l’archevêque David, les ambassadeurs, les hauts responsables géorgiens et la communauté religieuse géorgienne. Des vins élevés en jarres d’argile par les moines géorgiens et co-produits avec le domaine Badagoni ont accompagné le déjeuner.

Une masterclass « Terroir géorgien » destinée aux apprentis chefs géorgiens a été conduit par les deux chefs pour élaborer autour des produits traditionnels locaux et d’échanger sur le devenir de la gastronomie mondiale.

 

En voici de vidéos du voyage en Géorgie: